K Bloody Mary Mix: Vegan and Gluten-Free

 K Bloody Mary Mix: Vegan and Gluten-Free

Not all Bloody Mary mixes are the same. While there are many food options to be vegan, it is not the case in wines, mixes, liquors, or beers. Usually, Bloody Mary cocktails are not vegan since they have regular Worcestershire sauce, an essential ingredient in Bloody Mary cocktails. Now one can find vegan Worcestershire online or in local health food stores. K Bloody Mary Mix, founded in 2012, is vegan, gluten-free, and made in Brooklyn by hand in small batches.

It is made using 87 percent organic products shelf-stabilized by Cornell University. Each small batch (40 gallons) of mix is carefully blended with a watchful eye and bottled by hand. Some of us had the golden opportunity to try this tasty mix at the 2019 NYC Vegandale and other events.

Khia Nelson wanted to make this mix not just spicy for the sake of being spicy. The particular combination of ingredients she’s using has been blended to create a distinct flavor that has richness and depth.

K Bloody Mary Mix won an award in the Elixirs Category at the 2020 Good Food Awards. In each category, three food crafters from each region– North, South, East, West and Central– receive the honor each year.

It not only makes a great Bloody Mary, but works just as well with other liquors such as tequila (Bloody Maria), scotch (Bloody Bishop), gin (Red Snapper), beer (Michelada), and even sake (Bloody Haru). Others use it as a marinade for vegetables, meat, and seafood. The mix is available in 12 oz., 25 oz., and gallon bottles. More about the company and their fine product can be found at kbloodymarymix.com.

Mitchell Acks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *